Holiday and Portfolios

The ducklings have been an endless source of joy and wonder for our students these past weeks.  We have had many visits from other classes in the school, and the children have all demonstrated kindness and a deep awareness of our human role in caring for the health and wellbeing of these small souls.  They are growing so fast that they have almost grown out of their brooder bin, so in consultation with the owner of the ducks, she will be taking them back to their mama and the farm tomorrow or Friday (and before I get so attached that I won’t be able to let them go…)

This coming Monday, May 24th is Victoria Day, so there will be no school.  There will be programming on Tuesday the 25th, then we transition into Portfolio Meetings.  Portfolio Meetings are being held from May 27th through June 4th.  There is no programming during Portfolio Meeting time.  School will resume on Monday, June 7th.

Please ensure you have booked your portfolio meeting with me if you have not done so already.  As previously discussed, I need parents to write out an overview of everything your child(ren) has/have been learning at home.  If you can please email this to me at least the day prior to your meeting it will allow me the time necessary to go through it, prepare questions or clarifications, etc.  For the majority of my students, this information will provide the basis of their final report for the school year.

What I need specifically is a listing of what was accomplished for each curricular area.  Please include:

Mathematics

Language Arts (for Primaries:  a) reading b) writing c) listening/speaking

Science

Social Studies

Applied Design, Skills, and Technologies

Physical and Health Education

Arts Education

Career Education

Second Language (for Intermediates)

If you have any questions, please do not hesitate to ask!

Finally, the Beaconsfield PAC is providing us with approximately $7-8 per child to do something special for the end of the school year, as a class.  I have asked both groups what they might like to do, but with the parameters of covid, the kids are at a bit of a loss.  I am thinking of planning an outing/picnic at Trout Lake and providing some fun food/snacks for the kids?  If anyone has any neat ideas, I more than welcome them. Every year in past years I have also held a beach day at Spanish Banks for families and kids.  If families are interested in doing that during the last week of school, please let me know.  The Park Board has gotten a bit grouchy about booking those days, so I would need to hear from people ASAP on that one.

 

Comments are closed.